Will the real James Ludwell Lee please stand up?

Started by Private User on Sunday, October 29, 2017
Problem with this page?

Participants:

• Private User
    Geni Pro
  • Private User
    Geni Pro
  • Geni Pro

Profiles Mentioned:

Showing 1-30 of 81 posts
Private User
10/29/2017 at 11:19 PM

I am searching for James Ludwell Lee who is the father of my 5th grandfather, William Travers Lee (1750-1782). (I am very new at this so I appreciate your help and patience.)

They are descendants of Henry Harry Leigh who came to Va. from England in 1636. One of Harry's sons was James Leigh (Lee) (1624-1657). He seems to have three sons named James, three grandsons named James, two great-grandsons named James and one named James Ludwell, and four more great-grands names James or James Ludwell.

I find two possible paths. In the more plausible path, the father of James Ludwell (1720-1777), James (1675-1731) would have been born only seven years after his father, James was born in 1668.

I have exchanged messages with Erica and she pointed me to Discussions as a starting point to help get me on the right track? Any suggestions for me? Thanks.

Shirley

Private User
10/29/2017 at 11:26 PM

I just saw the message about tagging a profile in my post. I'm sorry.

Private User
10/30/2017 at 7:13 PM

This d00d James Lee, of Bertie County, NC looks like he might be James Leigh/Lee of Bath, NC (b. c1670, d. 1728 Bath, NC), leedna.com ID#126.

He has two probable descendants on their chart, Elwood Leigh and Jack Lee (no dates or other information).

Next-closest match, at 90% (marginally possible) is James Lee (b. 1765 GA, d. 1851 Russell Co., VA), who is otherwise an isolate.

One step farther out, 87%, (possible collateral) is William Lee (bc1780, dc1840-50 Jackson Co., AL)